User Login

Forgot Password?

Not a user? [Sign Up]

Another Highlight
Another Navigation Naicu
Another Highlight

Interested in NAICU Membership?

If your college or university is not presently a member of NAICU, we invite to explore adding your voice to our other nearly 1,000 members, and to learn more about the benefits of NAICU membership.
Read More

Another Highlight

Governance Structure



NAICU Governance Structure

Organization Chart/Map of Regions (PDF)

Board of Directors

The NAICU Board of Directors consists of 44 members (plus four non-voting members). Of those, 24 board members are directly elected to three-year terms by the membership – three from each of the eight NAICU regions. All 24 must be chief executive officers of member colleges or universities.

The 24 directly-elected board members elect 12 additional directors to three-year terms, who also must be member college or university chief executive officers. Beyond their three-year term, the chair of the board serves a fourth year, and the immediate past chair of the board a fifth year, with vote.

In addition, the chairs of the National Association of Independent College and University State Executives (NAICUSE) and the Secretariat serve as ex officio members with vote. The president of NAICU is an ex officio member without vote.

Two additional state executives and one additional member of the Secretariat are recommended by their respective organizations, and are ratified as voting members by the board. Three non-presidents from member institutions also participate in board deliberations without vote.


The officers of NAICU are the chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer of the Board of Directors, plus the president of NAICU. With the exception of the NAICU president, all officers are college or university presidents. The vice chair, secretary, and treasurer are elected by the board of directors from the members of the board. The election of the chair and vice chair is ratified by the membership at the annual meeting. Upon completion of his or her term, the vice chair becomes the chair.

Executive Committee

The executive committee is elected by the board, and consists of the officers, the past board chair, plus the chairs of the four policy committees described below and two at-large members.

Terms of Office

Newly-elected or appointed board members (except those filling vacancies) are seated and the new executive committee members assume their offices at the board meeting held in conjunction with the NAICU annual meeting, normally scheduled in late January or early February. All board members are elected to three-year terms except for the vice chair, who serves a fourth year as chair, and a fifth year as past chair.


Seven committees report to the NAICU board. Four deal with public policy issues, and are composed of board members as well as selected non-board NAICU members: the Committees on Accountability, Student Aid, Policy Analysis and Public Relations, and Tax Policy.

The Executive, Administration, and Audit Committees are operational committees, dealing with internal NAICU policies and procedures.

Conflict-of-Interest and Disclosure Policy

Values and Code of Ethics Policy

NAICU Membership

Members of NAICU are independent nonprofit institutions of higher education located in the United States. State associations representing independent colleges and universities and national, regional, and other special-purpose associations of independent colleges and universities are also eligible for membership. Each member is represented by its chief executive officer.